مرحبا بكم في جميرا

كلمة جميرا تعني حرفيا ” الجمرة الملتهبة “، وهو اسم أطلق على منطقة سكنية ساحلية في دبي، بالإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهي واحدة من أقدم المناطق التاريخية في دبي، يقول كثيرون أن جميرا كانت مرفأ للمسافرين والتجار يجدون فيه الترحيب والراحة، و عبر التاريخ كان العرب الذين يقطنون جميرا من الصيادين والغواصين وتجار اللؤلؤ.

حيث بدأت صناعة اللؤلؤ بمنطقة الخليج في وقت مبكر من العصور المتقدمة، منذ حوالي 7000 سنة، بدليل اكتشاف اللؤلؤ ضمن عمليات التنقيب لتلك الحقبة التاريخية، وكانت هذه الصناعة جزءً هاما من اقتصاد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في بداية القرن العشرين، وتوفر العمل الموسمي لعدة آلاف من الناس.

تفخر جامعة جميرا بتسمية ركن كلمة الجامعة – جمرة – باسم هذا المكان الذي يتمتع بالحداثة والأصالة، وباحترام وتكريم التراث، وحيث النجاح سمة بارزة لها.

منطقة جميرا هي مسقط رأس مؤسس الجامعة اللواء خليفة بن ضاعن المهيري، وهو عضو بارز في مجتمع الإمارات، ويذكر الماضي في منطقة جميرا بكل التقدير والاعتزاز حيث كانت الحياة البدائية والعمل الجاد ، والتفاني للحفاظ على القيم العائلية التي هي حجر الزاوية للمجتمع، ليس فقط في منطقة جميرا ولكن في جميع أنحاء الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وقد تأسست جامعة جميرا على هذه القيم الفذة وتأمل في تخريج أفراد، يحافظون عليها باستمرار قصص النجاح وقيادة المجتمع، من رجال الأعمال، والمربين، وعلماء الدين الإسلامي، العاملين في مجال الصحة،  مما يجعلهم محل فخر واعتزاز من أسرهم ومجتمعهم.

مرحبا بكم في جامعة جميرا.

Welcome to Jumeira

Jumeira (Arabic: جميرا‎) literally means “burning embers”. It is a coastal residential area in Dubai, United Arab Emirates and one of the oldest settlements in historic Dubai. Many say that Jumeira was a refreshment to the deserts around it, an oasis where travellers and traders alike were welcome. Historically, Arabs living in the Jumeira were fishermen, pearl divers and traders.

 

The pearl industry of the Gulf began as early as the Late Stone Age, around 7000 years ago, with pearls having been found among ornaments in graves of the period. It was an important part of the UAE’s economy at the beginning of the Twentieth Century, providing seasonal employment for several thousand people.

 

Jumeira University prides itself in naming our speak corner after a place where modernism and authenticity meet, heritage is respected and honored and success is a trademark.

 

Our founder, Major General Khalifa Bin Dhaen Al Muhairi, native of Jumeira and an esteemed member of the community, recalls the past of Jumeira with appreciation and pride were the simpler times, hard work, and dedication to family values were the corner stone of the community not only in Jumeira but across the UAE. Jumeira University is founded on these values and thrives to graduate members of Dubai community that will continue the success story of Dubai and their leaders and be the new business leaders, educators, Islamic scholars and health practitioners making their families and community proud.

 

Welcome to Jumeira University. Your Local University.